Planets in astrology meaning


Planets in astrology meaning

Step 1 is the introductory step. So in step 1 of learning how to read your kundli, we will learn about planets and houses in astrology as they are the soul and heart of any kundli along with signs in kundli. Each planet and house in astrology denotes a thing or two. They carry specific traits, which could either bear positive or negative results on the native. In astrology, planets, signs and houses don't work in stagnation and all of them are dependent on each other and contribute in bringing a change in the life of a person.

Entire astrology is based primarily on nine planets, twelve signs, twenty-seven Nakshatras and twelve houses (Bhava). Any astrology prediction by the best astrologers in India is based on permutations and combinations of these elements. In a nutshell, an astrologer, when reading your Kundli, would look at the positions of different planets, signs in different houses at the time of your birth and compare them with their current positions to allow you life predictions.

The nine planets in astrology are:

Planet Sanskrit Name
Sun सूर्य (Surya)
Moon चंद्र, सोम (Chandra, Som)
Mars मंगल, कुज (Mangal, Kuja)
Mercury बुध (Budha)
Jupiter गुरू, बृहस्पति (Guru, Brihaspati)
Venus शुक्र (Shukra)
Saturn शनि (Shani)
North Node राहु (Rahu)
South Node केतु (Ketu)

Each of these planets in astrology has certain traits that they infuse into the person. The intensity of giving out these traits change with respect to their placement in the kundli or their conjunction with other planets. This is something that you will understand going forward. For now, you just need to be aware of what each of the planets in astrology means or denote.

Sun - Self, confidence, father, vitality, creativity and power. Moon - Emotions, mind, mother, nourishment, creativity, response, sensitivity. Mars - Bravery, aggression, courage. Venus - Harmony, love and affection, companionship, luxury, creativity. Jupiter - Expansion, optimism, maturity, knowledge, luck. Saturn - Responsibility, limitation, stability, commitment, hard work. Mercury - Intelligence to interpret, analytical skills, communication, perception, expression. Rahu - Explosiveness, obsession, freedom, illusion, Materialistic gains. Ketu - Intuition, imagination, transformation, intensity, elimination.

Signs in astrology and their meaning

Now that we have understood about the 9 planets in astrology and their meaning, going forward we need to look at 12 signs in astrology. Interestingly, signs and planets in astrology share a close relationship. Each zodiac sign is governed by a planet and in this way, the planet brings its characteristics to the sign.

For example, the zodiac sign Taurus is governed by Venus. Venus traits (as mentioned above), being that of love and relationship, thus makes the Taurus natives romantic and very sensual (Taurus, relatable isn't it?). Signs in astrology have much more to contribute when it comes to learning how to read a kundli. However, we will learn that in another lesson.

Here are 12 zodiac signs and the planets governing them.

Zodiac Signs Their governing planets
Aries Mars
Taurus Venus
Gemini Mercury
Cancer Moon
Leo Sun
Virgo Mercury
Libra Venus
Scorpio Mars
Sagittarius Jupiter
Capricorn Saturn
Aquarius Saturn
Pisces Jupiter

Houses in astrology and their meaning

Have you seen those kundli diagrams or charts, which actually seem like some kind of rocket science to decipher? The diagram, also called the birth chart, is an amalgamation of 12 houses. Each of these 12 houses in astrology means or represent a thing or two. For example, the second house represents wealth, the fifth house represents children and so on.

Each of these houses is ruled by a zodiac sign. Also, planets in astrology (mentioned above) move from one house to another throughout a person's life thus altering the aspect (education, love, career, etc.) of that house from time to time. Again you will understand all of this in the upcoming chapters. For now, all you need to understand is the 12 houses in astrology and what they represent.

Houses in kundli and what they mean:

  • First House: It is the house of Self.
  • Second House: It is the house of Wealth and Family.
  • Third house: It is the house of Siblings, Courage and Valour.
  • Fourth House: It is a house of Mother and Happiness.
  • Fifth House: It is the house of Children and Knowledge.
  • Sixth House: It is the house of Enemies, Debts and Diseases.
  • Seventh House: It is the house of Marriage and Partnership.
  • Eighth House: It is the house of Longevity or Ayu Bhava.
  • Ninth House: It is the house of Luck, Father and Religion.
  • Tenth House: It is the house of Career or Profession.
  • Eleventh House: It is the house of Income & Gains.
  • Twelfth House: It is the house of Expenditure & Losses.

So, this was the gist of the most important elements that constitute kundli reading. In the next chapter, we will discuss the nature of zodiac signs and planets; and also how they can be used to make forecasts.

Connect with an Astrologer on Call or Chat for more personalised detailed predictions.


Mar 21 - Apr 19
Apr 20 - May 20
May 21 - Jun 21
Jun 22 - Jul 22
Jul 23 - Aug 22
Aug 23 - Sep 22
Sep 23 - Oct 23
Oct 24 - Nov 21
Nov 22 - Dec 21
Dec 22 - Jan 19
Jan 20 - Feb 18
Feb 19 - Mar 20

Copyright 2023 Astrotalk Services Private Limited (Formerly Codeyeti Software Solutions Pvt. Ltd.) All Rights Reserved