Navratri Special-Things You May Not Know

Navratri Special

Navratri is a nine days long festival in the Hindu culture in order to honour the divine ‘Maa Durga’. 

“प्रथमं शैलपुत्री च द्वितीयं ब्रह्मचारिणी।तृतीयं चन्द्रघंटेति कूष्माण्डेति चतुर्थकम् ।।
पंचमं स्क्न्दमातेति षष्ठं कात्यायनीति च ।सप्तमं कालरात्रीति महागौरीति चाष्टमम् ।।
नवमं सिद्धिदात्री च नवदुर्गाः प्रकीर्तिताः ।।.

Several parts in India celebrate Nine different forms of ‘Devi’. In this period during this period and people around the country keeps fasts as an honor to the Goddess. Navratri is one of the most auspicious festivals of all.

On first day, ‘Kalash Sthapana’ is accomplished. ‘Akhand diya’ is lit for 9 consecutive days. For Chaitra Navratri 2019, time for ‘Kalash Sthapana’ is from 11:35 till noon 12:24.

On all the nine days, people worship nine different forms of Goddess Durga. Each day has its own significance.

Day 1: Shailputri (Parvati) in Navratri

On first day of Navratri, Shailputri, people worship ‘Maa Durga’. This form of ‘Maa’ was originate from Shell. Therefore known as Shailputri. The image of ‘devi’ comes with a ‘trishul’ in right hand and with the lotus in the left.

It’s believed that by worshiping her the devotees always have an immense supply of grains and wealth. Fasting on this day and offering cow’s pure ghee at mother’s feet brings blessings of good health. Wearing a red color on this day holds a special significance.

Mantra of the day:
“वन्दे वांछितलाभाय चन्द्रार्घतशेखराम।
वृषारुढ़ा शूलधरां शैलपुत्री यशस्विनीम् ।।”

Day 2: Brahmacharini in Navratri

Brahmacharini literally means “to behave like a penance”. Brahma means “austerity” and Charini means “to behave”. Goddess Brahmacharini’s image comes with a ‘Jaap mala’ in right hand and with a ‘kamandal’ in left.

Worshiping her will give the sense of tenacity, renunciation, and virtue. Sweet dishes and fruits are very dear to mother Brahmacharini.

The life of all the family members increases by offering ‘shakar’ to mother. It is customary to wear yellow clothes during the worship.

Navratri Brahmacharini

Mantra of the day:
“दधाना करपद्माभ्यामक्षमालाकमण्डलू ।
देवी प्रसीदतु मयि ब्रह्मचारिण्यनुत्तमा ।।”

Day 3: Chandraghanta in Navratri

This form of the mother Goddess is always ready for the war with all her weapons, to protect the welfare and peace of her devotees. She has ten hands holding various weapons.

She is the Goddess who inspires courage in a person. Moreover, when provoked she can be malevolent to those who invite her wrath. But she remains the embodiment of serenity to her followers.

By worshiping ‘Mata’ Chandraghanta and fasting on this day. An individual fulfill all the wish by this. To mother milk, sweets and ‘kheer’ are very dear.

Therefore, while worshiping offer her sweets or ‘kheer’ made from milk. There is a special attachment of mother to green color, so prefer wearing green colored garments on this day.

The mantra of the day:
“पिण्डजप्रवरारूढ़ा चण्डकोपास्त्रकेर्युता ।
प्रसादं तनुते मह्यं चंद्रघण्टेति विश्रुता॥”

Day 4: Kushmanda in Navratri

Goddess Kushmanda rides on a lioness and has eight hands. She created the universe in the flash of her smile.  Whilst also bestow ‘siddhi’ (supernatural powers) and ‘niddhi’ (wealth) upon her devotees.

Worshipping of ‘Maa Kushmanda’, all the diseases/strokes can be avoided and the person’s age increases.

On this day, the person who fasts and sticks by all the rules gets free of all the diseases and his/her decision-making powers are enhanced. Offer mother ‘malpua(s)’ while praying. Wear grey on this day.

Navratri Kushmanda

The mantra of the day:
“सुरासंपूर्णकलशं रुधिराप्लुतमेव च।
दधाना हस्तपद्माभ्यां कूष्माण्डा शुभदास्तु मे ॥”

Day 5: Skandamata (Padmasana)

Goddess Skanda is also recognized as “The Goddess of Fire”. The mother fulfills all the desires of her devotees. She carries baby Skanda (Kartikeya or Lord Murugan) in her lap and therefore known as Skandamata.

She sits on a lotus flower and is also known as ‘Padmasana Devi’. Her ride is a lion. She opens the door of salvation, the ultimate happiness, to her devotees. After fasting for the whole day offer her bananas. With her blessings, your body will always remain healthy.

Devotees who worship this form of the Mother Goddess also get the blessings of Lord Skanda, the God of war. Using orange color on this day is lucky.

The mantra of the day:
“सिंहासनगता नित्यं पद्माश्रितकरद्वया ।
शुभदास्तु सदा देवी स्कन्दमाता यशस्विनी ।।”

Day 6: Katyayani

To destroy ‘Mahishasura’, the demon, the daughter of sage ‘Katyayana’ incarnated to help the ‘devas’. 

She has four arms and bestows boons upon those who worship and revere her with a pure heart. Their sadness, diseases, anger, and fear disappear.

Health and sweetness are adored by ‘Mata Katyayani’, therefore offer her honey on the sixth day of navratri. There is legislation to use white color while worshipping ‘Maa Katyayani’.

Navratri Katyayani

Mantra for the day:
“चन्द्रहासोज्वलकरा शार्दूलवरवाहना ।
कात्यायनी शुभं दघाद्देवी दानवघातिनी ।।”

Day 7: Kalaratri

This is the fiercest and the most ferocious form of the mother Goddess, which she manifested to destroy the demons ‘Sumbha’ and ‘Nisumbha’. The color of her body is black, and she has three eyes. Time, light, emotions and lives of forms blend into her.

Worshiping her opens the doors to wealth and health and all the evil energies stay away. Also, worshiping her give the devotees a relief from their griefs and a sudden emergence of distress.

She is the death of time and is greater than time itself. Wear pink fabric on this day.

The mantra of the day:
“एकवेणी जपाकर्णपूरा नग्ना खरास्थिता।
लम्बोष्ठी कर्णिकाकर्णी तैलाभ्यक्तशरीरिणी ।
वर्धनमूर्धध्वजा कृष्णा कालरात्रिर्भयंकरी ।।”

Day 8: Mahagauri (Gauri)

‘Mata Mahagauri’ is known as the forgiving Goddess, who forgives sinners and purifies them. Worshipping Mahagauri brings happiness and prosperity, also fasting on this day and making mother happy will make her bless you in every task you perform.

Offer coconut to the mother on the eighth day. The importance of blue clothes on this day is high.


The mantra of the day:
“समारूढ़ा श्वेताम्बरधरा शुचि:।
महागौरी शुभं दद्यान्महादेवप्रमोदया ।।”

Day 9: Siddhidatri (Lakshmi)

At the beginning of the universe, Lord Rudra worshiped the Goddess ‘Adi Parashakti’ for creation. She thus appeared in the form of ‘Siddhidatri’ from the left half of ‘Shiva’.

Sitting on a lotus, she is believed to possess and bestow all kinds of ‘siddhis’ upon her devotees. Hence is worshipped by humans, ‘gandharvas’, ‘asuras’ and ‘devas’ alike. She is all about fulfilling the desires and giving happiness.

Mantra of the day:
“सिद्धगंधर्वयक्षाद्यैरसुरैरमरैरपि ।
सेव्यमाना सदा भूयात् सिद्धिदा सिद्धिदायिनी ।।”

On the last day, after worshipping, ‘kanyas’ are called home and worshipped. It’s believed that little girls are the incarnation of the Goddess. Prefer wearing purple at ‘pooja’ on this day.

You might also like to read about The unsung heroes of Ramayana

Consult the best Astrologer of India now and learn about Indian festivals, customs. Also, connect with AstroTalk for Online Pooja and muhurt.


Posted On - April 5, 2019 | Posted By - Shruti Goel | Read By -


are you compatible ?

Choose your and your partner's zodiac sign to check compatibility

your sign
partner's sign

Connect with an Astrologer on Call or Chat for more personalised detailed predictions.

Our Astrologers

1500+ Best Astrologers from India for Online Consultation