Everything You Should Know About The 7 Vows of Marriage


“Today two individuals become one and took marriage vows. It doesn’t mean she quits any pretense of everything to move toward becoming you, or he surrenders just for her. It means balance. In the event that you recall this, you will consistently be upbeat.”

What is marriage?

As per Hinduism, marriage between two spirits is a holy undertaking.  It structures past one lifetime and may proceed up to in any event seven lives.

Relational unions are a significant soul-changing experience in a person’s life for any religion or culture. It denotes one’s actual passage into adulthood, stamping the person in question fit for assuming on the liability of prosperity of another individual. At the core of each garish, indulgent Indian wedding service lies the gravely legit Vedic Hindu Wedding Rituals. The 13 complex phases of the real Hindu wedding service uphold the earnestness of what marriage involves. Each ceremonial has its very own criticalness and is impossible away with. 

Historical background

As indicated by Hindu traditions, relational unions are made in paradise. The seven pledges or vows of marriage are guarantees which the lady and the husband make to one another for a prosperous life.

Upon the arrival of the wedding, the lady and the lucky man sit under the Mandap for this custom. The consecrated flame is lit alongside the standard Home puja done by the ministers. The Seven Vows alongside the Seven Pheras are the most significant custom in a Hindu Wedding.  Because it blesses the association and bears social acknowledgement to the marriage

Seven vows and their astrological connection

Astrology is intensely correlated to every religious ceremony. The presence of the holy fire around which the couple take the ‘7 fere’ is symbolic of the planet Sun. It is believed that the holy sun God bears witness to the fresh conjugal life of the newly married couple. Not only that, cow dung, ghee, rice and camphor are also used in the seven vows. These ingredients each, signify the planets of Shukra, Mangal, Brihaspati and Buddh respectively.

Decoding wedding date is a specific art which focuses on the positions of planets at the time of important decisions in people’s life. When to get married is another question to which every person is seeking an answer to, whether rich or poor, introvert or an extrovert. What’s the right age to get married is debatable? Click here to find out the ideal age to get married.

The first planet that needs to be checked is Shukra or, Venus, the planet of love. Click here if you wish to read about the effects of Venus in your birhtchart
Venus in Taurus, Libra, is highly favourable. But is not effective in Scorpio or Aries. Venus rules over Taurus, Sagittarius and Libra, make naturally good hosts.

The Seven vows of Marriage

the seven vows of marriage

For the First Vow

The Groom guarantees: “om esha ekapadi bhava iti prathaman”.  ‘You will offer me nourishment and be useful all around. I will value you and give welfare and satisfaction to you and our youngsters’. The lady of the hour goes along in return: “dhanam dhanyam pade vadet”. ‘ I am in charge of the home and all family, nourishment and fund obligations’. Compactly, the lady and husband guarantee each other of the hour by satisfying their individual jobs in their lives.

For the Second Vow

In the second vow, the husband to says: “om oorje jara dastayaha”, signifying ‘Together we will ensure our home and youngsters’. The Bride consequently guarantees “kutumburn rakshayishyammi sa aravindharam”, which deciphers as ‘I will be close by as your mental fortitude and quality. I will cheer in your bliss. Consequently, you will love me exclusively’.

During the Third Vow,

The Groom says, “om rayas santu joradastayaha” by which he signifies ‘May we become well off and prosperous and take a stab at the training of our kids and may our kids live long.’ consequently the Bride guarantees, “tava bhakti as vadedvachacha”, signifying ‘I will love you exclusively for an amazing remainder, as you are my significant other. Each and every other man in my life will be auxiliary. I pledge to stay modest’.

During the Fourth Vow,

The Groom proclaims “om mayo bhavyas jaradastaya ha” by which he signifies ‘You have brought holiness into my life, and have finished me. May we be honoured with respectable and submissive youngsters’ as an end-result of this guarantee, the Bride says “lalayami cha pade vadet”, by which she signifies, ‘I will give you bliss, from head to toe. I will endeavour to satisfy you all around I can’.

home and family

For the Fifth Vow,

The Groom says, “om prajabhyaha santu jaradastayaha”, which signifies ‘You are my closest companion and staunchest well-wisher. You have come into my life, advancing it. God favour you’. To this, the Bride says, “arte arba sapade vadet” or ‘I guarantee to adore and esteem you for whatever length of time that I live. Your joy is my satisfaction, and your distress is my distress. I will trust and respect you, and will endeavor to satisfy every one of your desires’.

During the Sixth Vow,

The Groom asks, “Rutubhyah pooed padi bhava” which signifies ‘Since you have made six strides with me, you have filled my heart with huge joy. Will you do the graciousness of filling my heart with joy like this for all occasions?’ to this, the Bride answers, “yajna hom shashthe vacho vadet” signifying ‘I will consistently be close by’.

For the Last and Seventh Vow,

In this vow, the Groom says “Om sakhi jaradastayahga”, by which he declares ‘We are presently a couple and will be one. You are mine and I am yours for time everlasting.’ The Bride acknowledges this decree and says “Attramshe sakshino vadet pade”, which signifies ‘As God is observer, I am presently your significant other. We will love, respect and treasure each other until the end of time.’


A man isn’t viewed as flawless except if he is married to a spouse is the very wellspring of the Purusharthas, of Dharma, Artha and Kama however even of Moksha. Those that have spouses can satisfy their due commitments in this world (Kriyavantah), those that have wives, genuinely lead a family life, and those that have wives can have a full existence.

 A Happy and healthy marriage requires patience and teamwork. But some internal hardships are inescapable. Nadi Dosh is one of such problems. Read the remedies of Nadi Dosh for a happy and healthy marriage.



Posted On - July 19, 2019 | Posted By - Vijayasan913 | Read By -


are you compatible ?

Choose your and your partner's zodiac sign to check compatibility

your sign
partner's sign

Connect with an Astrologer on Call or Chat for more personalised detailed predictions.

Our Astrologers

1500+ Best Astrologers from India for Online Consultation