12 Jyotirlinga: Shrines Of Lord Shiva

12 jyotirlinga

The 12 Jyotirlinga of Shiva located at 12 different places in the country. A visit to these Jyotirlingas gives us blessings of Lord Shiva and an opportunity to have a glimpse of our vast country.

In addition, Indian Mythology mentions that these Jyotirlingas are at the 12 places in our country where Lord Shiva takes incarnation and gives a boon to his devotees.

These 12 Jyotirlingas located in different parts of India are as follows:

1. Somnath Temple: Gujrat

Somnath Jyotirlinga

The first Jyotirlinga, Somnath temple is situated in the Prabhas region under the Kathiawar region of Gujarat (Saurashtra) province. In the same area, Lord Sri Krishna takes salvation after finishing the Yadu dynasty. A hunter named ‘Jara’ had pierced his feet with arrows.

2. Mallikarjuna: Andhra Pradesh

Shri Mallikarjuna situated on the top of Mount Srishail on the banks of river Krishna in the district of Andhra Pradesh. Herein, people also call this place as Kailash of the South.

According to Mahabharata, worshiping Lord Shiva on Mount Srishail gives the fruits of performing Ashwamedha Yagya. By just visiting the peak of Srishail, all kinds of sufferings of people go away.

3. Mahakaleshwar: Ujjain

The third Jyotirlinga is famous as Mahakal or ‘Mahakaleshwar’. This place is in Ujjain, Madhya Pradesh, which is also known as Avantika Puri in ancient literature. There is a grand Jyotirlinga of Lord Mahakaleshwar.

4. Omkareshwar: North India

Along with Omkareshwar Jyotirlinga, there is also Mamaleshwar Jyotirlinga. Both these Shivalingas have been counted in the same Jyotirlinga. Omkareshwar is also located in the Malwa region.

5. Kedarnath: Uttarakhand

This Jyotirlinga is of Shri Kedarnath sitting on the top of the Himalayas. Shri Kedarnath is also known as ‘Kedareshwar’, who sits on a summit called Kedar.

In the east of this peak is the temple of Lord Shri Badri Vishal on the banks of the Alaknanda River. If a person travels to the Badrinath region without visiting Lord Kedarnath, then his journey becomes fruitless, meaningless.

6. Bhimshankar: Dakini, Maharashtra

The name of this Jyotirlinga is ‘Bhimshankar’, which is located on Dakini. This place is located in the east of Mumbai in Maharashtra and north from Pune, on the Sahyadri mountain on the banks of the Bhima River.

Bhima river also originates from this mountain. Shri Bhimshankar is the sixth place of Jyotirlinga in the twelve Jyotirlingas of Lord Shankar located in India.

7. Vishwanath: Kashi, Varanasi

Seventh Jyotirlinga ‘Vishwanath’ is located in Kashi. According to the beliefs, Kashi is the holy city of the universe. It is placed on the trident of Lord Shiva.

Vishveshwar Jyotirlinga is located in Kashi city of Varanasi district of Uttar Pradesh. It is known by many names such as Anandavan, Anandakanan, Avi Mukta Kshetra and Kashi.

8. Trayambkeshwar: Nashik, Maharashtra

Eighth Jyotirlinga is popular by the name ‘Trayambak’. It is about eighteen miles from Panchvati in Nashik district. This temple is located on the banks of the Godavari river near Brahmagiri.

It is also famous as Trayambak Jyotirlinga. As a matter of fact, here Godavari River originates from a mountain called Brahmagiri. Just as the holy river Ganga flowing in North India has a special spiritual significance, similarly the Godavari flowing in the south has a special significance.

9. Vaidhyanathan: Jharkhand

The ninth Jyotirlinga is ‘Vaidhyanath’. This place is near the Jasidih railway station of Jharkhand province. In Puranas, this place has the name Chitabhoomi. In addition, the place where the temple of Lord Shri Vaidhyanath Jyotirlinga is located is called ‘Vaidyanathdham’.

10. Nageshwar: Baroda, Gujarat

Nageshwarnth Jyotirlinga

Jyotirlinga named Nagesh is located on the bank of river Gomti, in the Baroda region of Gujarat. This place is also famous with the name Darukavan.

Some people consider the Nageshwar Jyotirlinga of Shivling located in Aundha village of South Hyderabad, while some people call Jageshwar Shivling located in Almora district of Uttarakhand. Nageshwar Jyotirlinga is located at a distance of about 25 km from Dwarkapuri in Gujarat province.

11. Rameshwar: Tamilnadu

The tenth Jyotirlinga is ‘Rameshwar’. Rameshwar is also called the Setubandha. This place is located in the Ramanathapuram district of Tamil Nadu. Here the huge temple of Lord Rameswaram is adorned by the sea. It is one of the Chaar Dhams of Hindus. The island located in the Gulf of Mannar, where the famous temple of Lord Rama is grand.

12. Grishneshwar: Maharashtra

The eleventh Jyotirlinga is ‘Grishneshwar’. This place is near Beerulath village, about eighteen kilometers from Daulatabad under the Maharashtra region. This place is also popular as ‘Shivalaya’. Also, this temple is also famous as Ghushmeshwar. About eight kilometers south of Ghrishneshwar, the fort of Daulatabad exists on the top of a mountain.

Also, you may like to read the Article: Mahashivratri | Rudrabhishek
Badrinath Temple


Posted On - February 14, 2020 | Posted By - Navneet Suryavanshi | Read By -


are you compatible ?

Choose your and your partner's zodiac sign to check compatibility

your sign
partner's sign

Connect with an Astrologer on Call or Chat for more personalised detailed predictions.

Our Astrologers

21,000+ Best Astrologers from India for Online Consultation